When life hands you delicata squash, roast it.

 

I love roasted winter squash. Maybe I’m boring.. maybe I predictable… or maybe roasting is just the best possible way to cook winter squash! I don’t think I’ve ever cooked it any other way. Ever.

Normally I roast them, cut in half, until they are delicate, soft and nutty smelling. I scoop out the luscious flesh and place it into a small sauce pot with butter and milk (or cream). I heat that up with a little salt and brown sugar until the butter and sugar are melted and everything is nice and cozy warm. I normally purée it with an immersion blender or smash it with a fork or potato masher… I really like the silkiness that happens when its puréed though.

So thats me, and how I eat winter squash. And when I say winter squash, I mean a butternut. I know, I know.. there are like a million winter squashes out there, I’ve tried a couple… I think acorn and spaghetti (is spaghetti squash even a winter squash? I have no idea…), but I didn’t like any of them as much as butternut. I’m just totally sold on its super smooth texture and sweet nutty taste. When ever I make it S always asks if I’ve put nutmeg or something in it. I’ve never added spices, butternut just has its own natural spicy-nutty flavour, which I love.

 

A couple weeks ago, my CSA surprised me with a delicata squash, which I have never seen before, let alone eaten. I just got around to cooking it this week.. I know, I know… I get all flustered when I see a new vegetable that I’m unfamiliar with… I procrastinate. Luckily it held out pretty good in the fridge, patiently waiting for me to decide what to do with it. After much deliberation, I decided to roast it, surprise, surprise! BUT instead of my usual cut in half, roast and purée method, I decided to cut it into little half moons and roast it with some parsley, salt and olive oil. Get this… with the skin on. And you eat it, with the skin on too. Thank goodness I saw a recipe for that because I would have peeled it, something I wouldn’t have really wanted to do, because the skin looks thick, and well – inedible. Lucky for me, I have a lot of trust in internet recipes, especially if there is photo proof :)

I can safely say that this squash has become one of my favorites. Not only is it sweet and reminiscent of my beloved butternut squash, but its skin was quite enjoyable to eat and added an added contrast to the soft tender flesh.

 

 

Roasted Delicata Squash with Olive Oil, Parsley and Sea Salt

2 delicata squash (about 1 pound each), sliced into 1/2″ slices
1 tablespoons parsley, finely chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon sea salt
Black pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400°F

Slice the delicata squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Slice into 1/2″ slices and place in a single layer on a parchment paper lined baking sheet and toss with parsley, olive oil, salt and pepper.

Roast for 30-35 minutes or until soft and slightly golden. Flip half way through cooking to brown the other side. Season with more salt if needed.