Tomato Eggplant Tart with Feta

As you may know, I am not a huge fan of eggplant, and I feel like whenever I tell someone that they always look at me weird and exclaim “you don’t like eggplant?!!” I know, what’s wrong with me?? I find it has this weird flavour at the back of my throat if that makes ANY sense. I salt it every time to try to get rid of much weirdness as possible, but I don’t know, I can still taste it. The ONLY way I really like it, meaning I could eat a whole eggplant in a sitting, is it in pickled form. And I do plan on making a Baba Ganoush, as that seems to be the first things people tell me to make with it.

I’ve been a good sport I think, and have made this tart along with a Prosciutto and Eggplant Gougere, and both were surprisingly good. I actually ate quite a bit of the prosciutto and eggplant mix out of the pan and had to stop so I had some filling left for the gourgere! Don’t you love how I try to make things I don’t like better with cheese or meat and the addition of pastry? :)

This tart is very refreshing and the tomatoes are super fresh, sweet and at the same time acidic tasting. I hope you enjoy it if you love or even hate eggplant!

Tomato Eggplant Tart with Feta

Recipe adapted from this tart recipe, using my pie crust recipe
Serves 6

1 homemade or prepared pie crust
3 cups assorted heirloom tomatoes – sliced
1 small /medium eggplant, thinly sliced & salted
2 cloves of garlic, minced or grated
Olive oil
Salt & pepper
2 – 3 tablespoons of crumbled Greek (sheep’s milk) feta, or as much as you like (or substitute with goat cheese!)
A handful of fresh basil – torn (optional)

Preheat oven to 425*

Line a tart pan with parchment paper.

Thinly slice eggplant and spread out on a paper towel, salt well on both sides, cover with another paper towel and allow to sit and drain while you prep the tomatoes.

Slice the tomatoes to your desired thickness and mince or grate the garlic.

I put some parsley in my pie dough. Pretty!

Remove pie crust from the fridge and form it into the tart pan. Prick the bottom all over with a fork and bake for about 10 min, until the dough looks a bit dry.

Remove the tart dough from the oven and layer the bottom of the tart with the eggplant, and sprinkle with half of the garlic, all of the crumbled feta, sprinkle with salt and pepper and drizzle with olive oil

Layer the tomatoes on top of the eggplant in any pattern that you wish, overlapping of the tomatoes is fine. Sprinkle the remaining garlic over the tomatoes and drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with a good amount of salt and pepper.

 

Bake in the preheated oven at 425* for 20 minutes, reduce oven temp to 375* and continue baking for an additional 20 minutes.

Remove from oven and allow to cool. sprinkle with torn basil (optional) just before serving.