{A Taste of Summer} Sparkling Watermelon Lemonade

This drink is my little taste of sunshine… a reminder of the delicious fruit I had this summer with my CSA share. One of the greatest things is enjoying those summer fruits when the air outside is cold and crisp. That fruit, in my case, just so happened to be a watermelon! And a huge one at that!

Its really amazing how this drink came to be.

I had this watermelon three weeks ago that we sliced up to enjoy, but it just wasn’t very sweet. It had great watermelon flavour, but there was hardly any sweetness to it. I hate throwing things away, even if it is into my composter, so I thought about making it into a drink. I could just add honey to make it sweet maybe? I figured this watermelon could totally be salvageable.

Well. It turned out amazing. Tangy and not too sweet with a really intense watermelon flavour. We drank it everyday continuously until it had (sadly) disappeared :(

Sparkling Watermelon Lemonade

7 cups watermelon juice (see below)
1 cup lemon juice
1/3 cup honey (or to taste, depends on how sweet your watermelon is)

To get the juice from the watermelon:
Cut the watermelon flesh away from the rind. Puree the flesh in a food processor or blender until smooth. Strain out the pulp, squeezing as much juice out of the pulp as you can.

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl or pitcher and whisk or shake until honey is completely combined.

When serving, add about 1/3 or 1/4 sparkling water for a fizzy treat! Serve with crushed fresh mint leaves if desired.

