Blueberry Fields Forever

Blueberry field

I’ve tried a lot of blueberries over the years, and the majority of them were pretty boring tasting. I’d say I’ve become a bit of a Blueberry Connoisseur. After you’ve had wild blueberries, its hard to go back. That perfect balance of sweet and tart with that burst of blueberry flavour. I’ve tried all sorts from the grocery store (which are the worst, ick… ), picked my own from farms, and tried them from farmers markets. Oh and I’m even trying to grow my own, but my plants are pretty unhappy, to say the least, with that black walnut tree towering over them. Blueberries started to become my least favourite fruit.

One amazing day in July a couple years ago, my favourite health food store down the street was selling little pints of organic blueberries from a local farm. I bought a pint, took them home, and taste tested them. WOW. That was intense. I went back and bought 4 more pints. I just ate them. All. Fresh. Just like that. The didn’t even have a chance to make it into a pie or crumble, or even pancakes. I just had to know where these blueberries came from. The store had a little brochure for the farm, it was called Blueberry Hill. I had never been there before and it was around 45 minutes away. So I made the trip, it was worth it to me. I probably picked 30 pounds of blueberries, I mean it was crazy…. I froze most of them and there are a ton still in the freezer. I use the frozen ones to make pie or blueberry cheesecake.

Blueberries

I made the trek back to the farm again this year to pick enough blueberries to overdose on in their fresh form, and to chat with the adorable couple that runs the farm.

Blueberry Bush

Bushes

You should go. They grow the best blueberries I’ve ever had. Or don’t, more for me :)

Blueberry Hill / Irene Puddester
R.R.#1 22039 Hoskins Line
Rodney, Ontario  N0L 2C0
519-785-2217
ipuddester@live.com

And here is a blueberry pie you can make when you get back from picking!

Flakey Lard/Butter Pie Crust

This recipe is in joy of cooking its the flaky pie pastry dough. I’ve modified the recipe slightly by changing the fat.

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup lard
2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1/3 plus 1 tbsp ice cold water (cold water with some ice cubes thrown in to make it extra cold)

1. Cut up the butter and lard into smaller pieces.

2. Get a bowl and put in the flour, sugar and salt. Put the butter and lard in. Cut the fat into the flour. I usually chill this or pop it into the freezer for a bit if it gets too soft because you want those chunks of fat (or you probably can put this all in the food processor).

3. Drizzle over 1/3 cup plus 1 tbsp ice cold water (I usually need a bit more because I use hard flour). I knead it a couple times to see if it will stick together and when it barley starts to stick together and is still a bit crumbly, I make it into a rough ball, cut it in half, gently make each into a rough ball and flatten it, then wrap it in saran and chill it in the fridge. Just don’t work the dough too much, it will get all melty.

4. Once chilled roll both discs out to fit your pie plate. I make a lattice top because I like a challenge :)

For a lattice top:

I normally cut the 2nd rolled out dough into strips, maybe 1/2 an inch or so, with a pizza cutter and a ruler to keep my cuts straight. I put it on the back of a baking sheet and put it in the freezer, makes it eaiser to work with because its really really cold and not melting on you as you try to form it. I take it out of the freezer and start making the lattice right on top of the pie (the book says to do it on a baking sheet and then transfer it to the pie, but mine always falls apart). I then start with the two middle pieces and then work my way out. Next time I make pie I will take some instructional photos!

