Braised Wild Rabbit

It isn’t every day that I get to have rabbit, so when S brings one to me and says, “Look! I caught us dinner!” I’m thrilled, and cleaning it doesn’t bother me anymore, in fact, I’ve gotten pretty quick at it. I would post my method, but I’m not sure everyone would like to see that! This recently caught rabbit was the largest we’ve had yet, because it was much bigger than usual, I was thinking of doing a roast with it, but decided to do my usual tried and true recipe for braised rabbit, basically a stew. First things you need to do is cut it up into pieces, this goes for store bought rabbit too, as I’ve only seen them available whole. This link on how to cut up a rabbit is extremely helpful!

Unfortunately I chopped my rabbit before reading…. its not bad though!

Rabbit all prepped for frying.

Heat oil over medium in a skillet, place rabbit pieces in and brown.

Remove rabbit from pan and set aside. Add to the pan butter, onions, garlic, salt, pepper, bay leaf and thyme, cook until onions are softened but not brown. Add mushrooms and cook until slightly softened.

Blend flour, water, wine and tomato puree. Add to skillet and increase heat, bring to a boil and cook for 3 minutes.

Lower heat to low and add rabbit pieces back in.

Braise on low heat for 1-1/2 hours until meat is tender and falling off the bones.

Braised Rabbit with Mushrooms and Onions or (Rabbit Surprise)

I slightly modified this recipe.

2 tbsp oil
4 tbsp butter
1 rabbit, cut up
2 tbsp (30 mL) flour
1 cup wine
2-3 tbsp tomato puree
1/8 tsp (0.5 mL) ground thyme
2 medium onions, sliced
1 clove garlic, crushed
8 sliced mushrooms
1 cup (240 mL) water
3 sprigs parsley, or a couple tablespoons of kale chopped finely
salt and pepper to taste
1 bay leaf

Heat oil over medium in a skillet, place rabbit pieces in and brown. Remove rabbit from pan and set aside.

Add to the pan butter, onions, garlic, salt, pepper, bay leaf and thyme, cook until onions are softened but not brown. Add mushrooms and cook until slightly softened. Add more butter if things get too dry.

Blend flour, water, wine and tomato paste. Add to skillet and increase heat, bring to a boil and cook for 3 minutes. Lower heat to low and add rabbit pieces back in.

Braise on low heat for 1-1/2 hours until meat is tender and falling off the bones. Add parsley or kale stir and cook for a few min. At this point you can remove the rabbit meat from the bones to make it easier to eat, or serve on the bones if you want to get messy. Serve over mashed potatoes or even over spätzle or pasta noodles. I served this with a side of boiled baby potatoes coated in butter and chives. Enjoy!

