Homemade Mayonnaise

So easy, and really really good. Its totally worth it to make your own mayonnaise. I’ve seen some recipes that use just the egg yolk and I don’t like to waste, so I use the whole egg. For me it doesn’t taste or act any different, so thats just the way I do it now.

I always use olive oil and had started doing that not for the flavour but for the health benefits. It has an interesting almost bitter flavour that I’ve become accustom to. If you don’t want the strong flavour of olive oil, try a more mellow oil, such as sunflower, peanut, grape seed or even a light olive oil. I wouldn’t suggest Canola oil, soya bean or corn oils because they are highly modified, or vegetable oil which is highly processed.

Homemade Mayonnaise

Recipe is adapted from the Joy of Cooking recipe for mayonnaise – I’ve also cut it down a bit because I don’t use much mayonnaise and since it has a raw egg in it, I’d rather just make a new batch in a 3 or 4 days if I need it. Try to use the freshest eggs that you can, preferably farm-fresh.

1 whole egg (farm-fresh if you can)
1/2 tsp dried mustard
3 tsp lemon juice or vinegar
1/4 tsp salt
about 3/4 cup oil

Blend the egg with an immersion blender (or food processor) for 30 seconds, and add 1/2 tsp mustard. The egg should be light coloured and frothy.

Add the lemon juice (or vinegar) and  salt and blend for another 15 seconds

Turn the food processor on and pour the oil in slowly as a thin drizzle for the first third and twice as fast for the final two-thirds. You can stop adding the oil if your mayonnaise is at the consistency that you like. Add more oil if you want a thicker mayonnaise.

If you wish, add more lemon juice or salt to taste.

