Summer Squash (Zucchini) Fritters

There is only one way to eat zucchini and that is fried, in my opinion. Actually, thats probably the best way to eat anything…

I was so sad that the zucchini in my CSA box had ended a couple weeks ago, I thought for sure the season for zucchini had ended and I was already missing my zucchini fritters with sour cream. But then last week, I received some random summer squash, patty pans and one that looked like a round zucchini, so I thought I’d try out my fritters recipe with these and see how it turned out. To be honest, I didn’t even notice a difference at all, and it subsided my craving just a little longer. I think this recipe would be yummy with some grated carrots or some fresh corn kernels, and maybe some feta crumbled in too!

Note that I doubled the recipe! My photo also shows cooking onion and some chives because I didn’t have any scallions.

Zucchini Fritters

Recipe from Simply Recipes, but I added some additions to the sour cream.

1 lb of zucchini (about 2 medium sized), coarsely grated
Kosher salt
Ground black pepper
1 large egg
2 scallions, finely chopped (I’ve used finely chopped cooking onion if I didn’t have scallions on hand, or I’ve even used chives)
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup grape seed oil or olive oil
Sour cream or plain yoghurt mixed with some lemon juice and chopped chives

Salt the zucchini with about 1 teaspoon of salt. Try to remove the excess moisture from the zucchini by either squeezing the liquid out with a potato ricer, or by squeezing with a towel wrapped around the zucchini. I’ve used my hands before and just tried to squeeze as much as I could out by doing handfuls at a time.

Whisk egg in a large bowl; add the zucchini, flour, scallions, and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. Mix to combine well.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook fritters in two batches. Drop six mounds of batter (2 Tbsp each) into the skillet. Flatten slightly. Cook, turning once, until browned, 4-6 minutes on each side. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate. Sprinkle with salt. Repeat with remaining batter.

Serve immediately, with sour cream or plain yoghurt mixed with lemon juice and chives. I like putting it in a little bowl and just dipping the fritters into it.

