Raw Beet, Carrot and Cabbage Coleslaw with Red Onions

How amazing is it when you get a bunch of ingredients in your CSA box that you can use in one dish! That rarely happens for me, I just use a little here and a little there as the week (or weeks) go on. But this week I had some beautiful beets, a cabbage, carrots and red onions, along with some gorgeous herbs, and I knew exactly what to do with them.

My beautiful friend graciously invited us over for dinner one night. Apart from the delicious meal, her beet coleslaw has made a lasting impression on me and I made it twice that week. I had every ingredient to make this coleslaw in my CSA bin this week, yay! So that’s exactly what I did. I mix in some olive oil for body and some honey into the dressing because I have a bit of a sweet tooth! Ooooo!

While asking her for the basic recipe I asked,

“How did you cook your beets, roasted, boiled?”

“They’re raw”

“Nooooo waaayyyyy”

I had never thought about leaving beets raw before, never occurred to me. I’ve always had them cooked, roasted, boiled pickled, but cooked. I thought it would be inedibly hard raw, but WOW, when you shred them, they’re about just as crunchy as carrots.

The beauty of being involved in a CSA is the surprises you get. Not only do you get a surprise every time you open your box, but also when you cut into the average ordinary-looking vegetable.

Like this beet… It might look all normal from the outside. But once you cut into it….

Woah woah woah…

I believe these are heirloom Chioggia beets. Lets call them candy beets, you know you want to.

Now, every time I’ve made this salad its been bright red from the red beets, so this one was a little less bright because the orange kind of took over, but turned into more of a brown as it marinated.

So heres what your red beet salad will look like. And the red just takes over when you let it sit for longer. It will all just look like beets in there when its done.

Previous beet coleslaw that I made with red beets

Raw Beet, Carrot and Cabbage Coleslaw with Onions

2 large beets (or 3-4 medium), peeled and shredded
2 large carrots (or 3-4 medium), peeled and shredded
1/4 medium red onion, sliced thinly
1 small cabbage, shredded
1 tablespoon basil, chopped
1 tablespoon parsley, chopped
 // dressing  //
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tsp salt, or to taste
3 tablespoons sugar or honey, or to taste
For the dressing:
Combine all ingredients in a mason jar and shake until mixed well.
For the salad:
Place all salad ingredients into large bowl and pour dressing over, toss well.
(You might not need all of the salad dressing, so add to your liking)
This salad gets better as it marinates, so let it chill in the fridge for an hour or two.

Get some apple cider vinegar, the good cloudy stuff…

Knife skills….

Everything’s all chopped and ready to be tossed with dressing.

Oops, don’t forget your herbs too….

