Peach & Pistachio Ice Cream

Oh.. can I just say…

THANK YOU MOM!!!!! SO SO SO SO MUCH!!!!

My mom got me the ice cream maker attachment for my KitchenAid mixer, and I love it. It works amazingly, and the ice cream I just made turned out way better than I had imagined. And the scoop-ability (yes I made that word up)  of it was out of this world. I didn’t think ice cream got much better than Häagen-Dazs, but I just won.

Together with the ice cream maker, she added in the Food & Drink magazine from the LCBO. She kindly picked me up a copy, and I was so glad, because I didn’t have that one, and it had a recipe for the best ice cream I’ve ever tasted… in my life.

I used to be a chocolate ice cream lover, well I still am, but it was unheard of for me to try a different flavour. I took a giant leap and tried the vanilla bean, and the swiss almond (chocolate covered almonds) vanilla Häagen-Dazs ice creams. And wow they are pretty darn good, so that changed my thinking a bit. And this peach pistachio ice cream put me over the edge. Could this be my new favourite flavour? It kind of blows chocolate out of the water. I’m thinking blueberry ice cream is next, and then maybe I’ll make a chocolate too… you know, just for old times sake :)

Some changes to the recipe that I made were cutting down the sugar slightly, adding lemon zest (recipe called for adding lime zest as an option), adding lemon juice, and using agave nectar instead of the corn syrup. I don’t like corn syrup because corn is highly genetically modified and most corn syrups are high fructose. So I experimented with agave nectar (a cactus) and it turned out beautifully. I will experiment with honey next time, I would prefer to use that I think!

Peach & Pistachio Ice Cream

Recipe from Food & Drink magazine, from the LCBO (I decreased the sugar and modified the recipe slightly below)

Makes 1 quart (1 litre)

6-7 small fresh ripe peaches, or 3-4 medium, or 2-3 large – enough to make 3 cups (about 650g peaches skinned and stoned)
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup whipping cream (35%)
2 tbsp. corn syrup (I used agave nectar)
1 tsp. vanilla extract (I used vanilla bean paste)
1/2 cup shelled unsalted pistachios, chopped
zest of half a lemon
1 1/2 tsp lemon juice

Half fill a large pot with water and bring to a boil. Meanwhile half fill a large mixing bowl with cold water. Add peaches to boiling water for 45 seconds. Remove, plunging immediately into the cold water.

Peel and stone peaches. Cut into large dice; there should be 3 cups (or about 650g). Immediately place in blender with sugar, cream, corn syrup, lemon juice and vanilla. Blend until a smooth purée. Stir in lemon zest. Turn into a container; cover and refrigerate for at least 6 hours or overnight. Mixture must be icy cold.

Pour mixture into ice cream maker (the KitchenAid one says to pour it in while the machine is running and dasher is turning). Process according to manufacturers directions until thick ice cream forms, usually 15 – 25 minutes. Meanwhile rub pistachios in a tea towel to remove as much of the skins as possible. Chop so pieces of nut are just visible.

Remove dasher from ice cream maker. Using a rubber spatula, fold pistachios into ice cream. Pack ice cream into another container; cover and return to freezer. If not consuming immediately, temper on the counter for 15 minutes before serving (I didn’t need to do this, it scooped amazing right out of the freezer). Will keep for up to one week… if it even lasts that long!!

I kind of suck at scooping ice cream…

