Melted Leeks and Quinoa with Poached Farm Egg and Parmesan Broth

Have you ever poached an egg? I apparently suck at it, I would drop it into the water and it would just want to go every way but in the middle, forming tendrils of egg white like a little egg-octopus…. until recently. And I am so glad because I had found this recipe I reeeeeeally wanted to try… Melted Leeks and Quinoa with Poached Farm Egg and Parmesan Broth. Sounds good, no?

Before

Almost giving up, I searched the internet for how-to’s, and how overwhelming… there are TONS of different methods. There are even methods to cook it in plastic wrap… not a fan of that… so I went with one that sounded like it would work for me and not leach plastic into my egg. Ahh where would I be without the internet. And let me tell you, my success rate for poaching eggs has gone way up.

The method I use is by adding a splash of vinegar to the water, using a very small pot, and spinning the water with a whisk so it forms a whirlpool. I crack the egg into a small bowl because its much easier to drop the egg into the whirlpool that way. The pain is that you have to cook them one at a time, so if you need to heat them all up at the end, just drop them back in the warm water for a couple seconds and they are heated up again.

I am so glad I found this recipe, because it has become one of my favourites. I’m fairly certain that I could eat this everyday. As soon as I saw this photo, I knew I wanted to eat it right away, I mean just look at that sexy egg yolk right?!? She uses some beautiful red quinoa, which I have not been able to find yet, but it looks lovely.  I would have never thought of this combination, fluffy nutty quinoa with a slight crunch, silky soft buttery leeks, savoury chicken stock, and a soft-poached egg melting over the entire thing! Oh my! And they all the elements are things I absolutely adore.

After

Although the recipe says one poached egg per dish, I make mine with two poached eggs (I can’t help it, I love them!), and S likes four, so feel free to make as many poached eggs to top this lovely soupy dish with. This is a delicious meal that you can make for lunch or a light dinner. Please try it, you won’t be disappointed!

Melted Leeks and Quinoa with Poached Farm Egg and Parmesan Broth

Recipe directly from Married with Dinner

For each serving — multiply as needed:
1/3 cup melted leeks
1/2 cup cooked quinoa
1/2 cup simmering chicken stock
a handful of Parmesan cheese, grated as finely as possible (about 1/2oz by weight)
1 extra-large egg
minced chives, for garnish
salt, as needed

Up to a week in advance:

– Make the melted leeks

  • Slice the leeks in half lengthwise, then slice the white and light-green parts into half-rings about 1/4- to 1/8-inch thick. Rinse leek slices well in a bowl of running water. Melt butter in heavy skillet over medium-low heat. Add leeks and a couple of tablespoons of water. Simmer slowly until leeks are tender and almost all water evaporates, adding more water if needed to further soften the leeks. Season well with salt. If using immediately, remove pan from the heat and set aside. Otherwise, cool to room temperature and store for up to a week in the fridge. (2 cups sliced raw leeks + 4T butter makes about 2/3 cup cooked, enough for 2 servings.)

Up to 24 hours in advance:

  1. Thaw the stock in the fridge, if frozen.
  2. Grate the Parmesan cheese with your finest grater, and refrigerate.

When you’re ready for dinner:

  1. Cook the quinoa. (2 parts water to 1 part quinoa, slow-simmered about 20 minutes or until all water evaporates. 1 cup raw quinoa makes about 3 cups cooked)
  2. Warm the leeks in a skillet with just a splash of added water.
  3. Mince the chives.
  4. Bring the chicken broth to a lively simmer and whisk in the Parmesan.
  5. Just before you’re ready to serve, soft-poach the eggs.
  6. While the eggs are cooking, divide the melted leeks among individual bowls, spreading to cover about 2/3 of the bottom of the bowl. Scoop the quinoa over the leeks, and top each serving with a soft-poached egg. Sprinkle with chives, and pour the Parmesan broth around the edges of the bowl.

 

