Chicken and Broccoli Calzones

Yeah I’ve been on a pizza kick lately. Can you blame me?

There was some leftover roasted chicken breast in the fridge and some CSA broccoli that needed using up. I found a recipe that uses both at once… in pizza form. WIN. I kind of get bored of steamed broccoli with butter.

S, as expected was like, ‘Broccoli on pizza?!?! Thats going to ruin it!. Up until he took a bite of it, he was completely sure that it was going to be horrible. He even smelt it and made a face. Well, broccoli, even to me, doesn’t have the nicest smell… so what did he expect! :) Needless to say after he took that bite, he was like “Oh WOW, I wasn’t expecting it to be this good!” and he wanted seconds,Yes, please even the pickiest of eaters. Children or man-children :)

This makes 8 calzones because I used my batch of pizza dough, which is good for two pizzas. We ate 4, yes two people ate 4, thats how good they were, and I froze the rest. I did a bit of an experiment – two frozen raw and uncooked, but formed into the little pizza pocket, and the other two are frozen partially cooked. I’ll keep you posted and let you know which is most successful.

Chicken and Broccoli Calzones with Cheddar

Recipe adapted from The Live-In Kitchen

Makes 8 calzones

1 head of broccoli, chopped and cooked in boiling salted water – drained well
1 pound chicken breast, cooked and shredded or chopped (or leftover roasted chicken meat)
4 cups shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 cup pesto (I’ll post a recipe at some point along with tips on keeping it green!)
Roughly 2 cups béchamel sauce (On my to post list!)
1 batch of pizza dough
1 egg, beaten (for egg wash)
Olive oil
Sea salt

Preheat the oven to 450ºF. Place a pizza stone in the oven if using. If not, prepare a baking sheet by coating it lightly with olive oil.

Whisk the béchamel and pesto together, set aside.

On a lightly floured surface, split the dough into 8 equal pieces and roll them into rounds about 7 or 8″ in diameter. Spread the rounds with the béchamel/pesto sauce some cheddar, broccoli and chicken, leaving a 1/2 inch border along the edges. Brush the edges with water. Fold the other half of the round over the filling and press or pinch the edges to seal. Roll over the edge and crimp tightly. Repeat with the remaining dough and filling.

Transfer the calzones to the prepared baking sheet. Using a sharp knife, cut 3 slits across the top of each calzone. Brush with egg wash (or olive oil) and sprinkle with sea salt. Bake until golden, about 10-15 minutes.

