Lazy Sunday Casserole

Or I should say, “Sunday, but not restricted to”, since I made this on a Friday :) I have all sorts of lazy days, and they come at random days of the week too, not just the busy days. But of course there are those days where you are so busy with work (or kids), and the last thing you want to do is cook, been there, many times.

I got this recipe from Kayotic Kitchen its her recipe for Lazy Sunday Casserole. Her photos looked delicious and thats usually a huge selling feature for me :) But really, I love sausage and potatoes and since I’ve been feeling sooooo lazy lately, I figured this looked easy enough!

I have posted the vegetables and changes I made in my recipe below, its slightly modified because of what veg I had on hand (like usual!), head over to her recipe to see her awesome photos and the veggies she used – fennel was involved! Yum!!!

Lazy Sunday Casserole

Recipe from from Kayotic Kitchen, with minor edits

4 pork sausages
1 pound potatoes, peeled and cut into 4 pieces
1/2 pound carrots, peeled and cut into pieces
1/2 – 1 red (or use red, orange, yellow or green) bell pepper, cut into strips
1 large onion, cut into wedges
1 fennel bulb, base and stalks removed, and cut into wedges (I didn’t have this so I omitted, although it would be delicious!)
1 large garlic clove, chopped or grated

2 tbsp oil
freshly cracked black pepper
1 tbsp fresh parsley, finely chopped (or 1 1/2 dried, plus other herbs of your choice)
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 cup chicken broth
4 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Place all the veggies in a big roasting tray (or in my case, my trusty cast iron).

Use a big bowl to combine the oil with the herbs, garlic, lemon juice and chicken broth. Pour this dressing all over your veggies and toss them around a bit. Season with a generous amount of salt and cracked black pepper.

Cover the tray with aluminum foil and pop it in a preheated oven. Bake at 450F (225C) for 45 minutes. (I used my cast iron lid).

Meanwhile brown the sausages. No need to cook them all the way through, just lightly brown them.

After 45 minutes the potatoes and vegetables should be fork tender. If they’re not, cover the tray with the foil and pop them back in the oven for a few more minutes. If they are fork tender, place the sausages in there and pour the balsamic vinegar all over. Place the tray back in the oven, uncovered, for about 20 – 25 minutes.

Take it out after 15 minutes, flip over the sausages and ladle some of the juices all over the vegetables and sausages. (I cranked my oven up to 500F to get more browning happening) Put it back in the oven for the remaining time, until everything is nice and brown. I also broiled it for a bit near the end to get more browning, as my oven seems a bit weak :) So adjust to your oven, they are all different!

