Homemade BBQ Sauce

You know what? Making BBQ sauce is super easy. And I mean super easy. You’ll be asking yourself, why am I actually buying this?!

Really you just throw everything into a pot and let it simmer away for about 25 min. I mean, look at the directions… there is only one step! Couldn’t be easier. Seriously, no excuse not to make this :)

I use this BBQ sauce for all recipes requiring a BBQ sauce, which means either spareribs or chicken wings. Sad I know, there has got to be other uses! Let me know what else I can use it for, because its soooooo good.

OH. And it makes the house smell AWESOME.

Starting with some high quality ingredients :)
Step 1. Throw it all in a pot, and simmer
Done!
Put it to good use!

Homemade BBQ Sauce

Adapted from the Joy of Cooking

1 1/2 cups ketchup (I used homemade)
1 cup cider vinegar (or red wine vinegar)
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 cup packed light brown sugar
2 tablespoons dry mustard
4 tablespoons chili powder
1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger (or 1 teaspoon ground ginger)
2 minced or grated garlic cloves
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 lemon, cut into slices

Over medium heat, combine all ingredients in a saucepan and simmer, stirring often for 20-30 minutes, until slightly thickened.

This sauce will keep, covered and refrigerated, for up to two weeks.

