Creamy Roasted Red Pepper, Tomato & Cream Cheese Linguine

I needed to use up some red peppers (as well as green ones – but thats another post) and fast. They’ve been accumulating over the weeks from my CSA and I’ve been ignoring them… poor neglected peppers.

I love pasta, I don’t think I could ever give up wheat :P I have been trying to decrease my intake… I’m Italian for goodness sake, its practically impossible! We survive on wheat. Although, not the same wheat you buy at the grocery store. This “new” wheat is a hybridized and crossbred form of wheat in which the actual proteins are structurally different then old forms of wheat. They’ve altered it for high yield and its also shorter so that the plants don’t fall over on themselves from the now heavy load of wheat seeds. What happens though, is that because of this intense hybridization some people have become allergic to it and some have a really hard time digesting it. And yeah… I still buy store-bought sourdough bread (good quality mind you), dried pasta and hard wheat flour from my flour mill…

Spelt is an ancient grain, and from what I understand, an ancient form of wheat. I bought some flour to experiment with and I used it exclusively in my pumpkin pancakes, and they turned out amazingly! Really fluffy and light! I’m going to continue to experiment with this flour, making pasta and bread, and see how it goes!

So anyways, wow, I sure went off topic there… like usual… This pasta sauce is amazingly yum. I was going to make it out of all roasted red peppers, but it was too pepper tasting, which is good when its red, but I thought it needed some tomatoes too. The sauce is creamy from 35% cream and cream cheese (you can substitute goat cheese which would be awesome, but S is not a fan). This sauce does not disappoint!

Creamy Roasted Red Pepper, Tomato & Cream Cheese Linguine

1/2 pound linguine (or other pasta)
2 tablespoons butter
1 clove garlic, grated
2 tbsp heavy cream
2 tbsp cream cheese or goat cheese
parmigiano reggiano (parmesan), grated on top of the pasta
1 cup roasted red peppers, coarsely chopped
1 cup tomatoes, canned (or fresh)
salt and pepper to taste
1 bunch parsley, chopped

Cook the pasta as directed on the package.

Melt the butter in a pan over medium heat, add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about a minute.

Add the roasted red peppers and tomatoes. Simmer until the tomatoes are cooked and some of the tomato liquid has evaporated, about 15-20 min. Stir in cream cheese and heavy cream and stir until melted. Season with salt and pepper.

Remove from heat and puree with a hand blender or in a blender or food processor. Add chopped parsley.

Serve hot over the pasta garnished with parmesan and parsley.

