{Breakfast Today} Fluffy Spelt Pumpkin Pancakes

What to do when you have CSA pumpkins and winter squash coming out of your ears? Throw it into any old recipe and hope no one notices there is pumpkin in everything you are cooking suddenly. Well S notices. And now he asks “is there pumpkin in this?” for just about anything I cook now. He’s even become so sketchy about trying my creations now, even though he usually loves it in the end. He’s a meat eater, what can I say.

Maybe I finally swayed him to the way of the pumpkin with this recipe. Fluffy, light, tasting of pumpkin pie, and with spelt flour no less! Its like pumpkin pie for breakfast, can’t go wrong with that. Who doesn’t like pumpkin pie for goodness sake?! I’m looking at you Dad :)

Sorry in advance, this recipe might be slightly more complicated then the average pancake recipe, but don’t let that deter you. I have to say, I was never a fan of pancakes before this recipe. I didn’t like how dense they were. One day I visited my Mom and she made these super light fluffy pancakes. Wait! I don’t remember pancakes ever being like this! Thankfully she shared her secret with me. She separated the egg yolks from the egg whites and beat the whites. Thats not too crazy, I can handle that for a weekend breakfast even though I am soooooo not a morning person.

I looked up a ton of pumpkin pancake recipes but was afraid of them being dense, so I used my trusty recipe and modified it to handle the pumpkin and spice. The flavour is nice and subtle, not too pumpkin-y or too spicy, a perfect breakfast for Thanksgiving morning!

Happy thanksgiving to you all and especially my family! :)

Fluffy Spelt Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

2 cups spelt flour (you can substitute for regular all purpose flour)
1 cup whole milk (or buttermilk)
1 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (I roasted a pie pumpkin and pureed it the day before, but you can use canned)
2 eggs, separated
1 tsp baking powder (you can make your own – see note at the end of this post)
1 tsp salt
1/3 cup organic cane sugar (or maple syrup, honey, or agave nectar)
1/4 cup olive oil (trust me, you cant taste it, and its good for you!)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Whisk together the spelt flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in a bowl. Preheat cast iron pan or griddle.

Separate the eggs and place the whites in a sand mixer bowl and fasten the whisk attachment.

Add the yolks to a bowl with the milk, pumpkin, sugar, oil and vanilla. Mix well until combined.

Whip the egg whites to medium peaks.

Dump the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until just combined. Fold in 1/3 of the egg whites to the batter. When its incorporated, fold in the rest gently. There can be some lumps. *The batter should thicken up after the egg whites are added. If it still looks too liquidly add a bit more flour and fold it in gently. Cook a pancake to test if the batter is still too liquidly. (Some flours are very different and produce a thicker or more liquidly batter)

Use 1/3 cup measuring cup to ladle the batter into the buttered pan. Cook until bubbles appear on the surface and then flip and cook until golden brown.

OH P.S.
Did you know you can make your own baking powder?

I always make it because sometimes they add weird things to pre-made baking powder like aluminum (yuck), and frankly, its better because its always fresh and in my opinion works better then the pre-made stuff. Its super easy too, and you probably have most of the ingredients in your cupboard. I make it so often I have the ratio memorized!

You just need these three ingredients:

1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp of some kind of starch to work as the neutral agent (cornstarch, tapioca starch, potato starch – I use tapioca)
1/2 tsp cream of tartar (which is a byproduct of wine making)

Mix it all together and voilà! This makes 1 tsp of baking powder. Increase as needed!

