Creating Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Ginger

In an attempt to make something fun and exciting with some of the butternut squashes, the first thing that came to mind was soup… despite S’s pleas to make the usual roasted mashed butternut squash, his favourite.

Its definitely soup weather outside, and thats really all I’ve been craving lately, so I looked online for a squash soup recipe. Some recipes had curry powder which I’m not a fan and don’t have, and others had other ingredients which I didn’t have like coconut milk (which sounds awesome). All I wanted was a simple butternut squash soup with lots of onions to enhance the sweetness of the squash… and something else, to give it some punch. Then I remembered a carrot soup with ginger recipe that my Mom gave me many years ago. I haven’t had that soup in forever, and it was one of my favourites! Even S adores this soup. So I thought I would make this soup but use butternut squash to replace the carrots. It turned out amazing. Even with S’s cries of pain as I scooped the roasted butternut squash flesh into the soup pot, I still got a “well, this soup is yummy!” in the end :)

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Ginger

2 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
1 clove garlic, grated or minced
1 cup chopped onion (about one onion)
1 butternut squash (about 2 pounds)
About 4 cups chicken stock
1/4 cup lime or lemon juice (more or less to taste)
Yogurt or sour cream for garnishing
Chopped chives for garnishing

In a soup pot, sauté ginger, garlic and onion in olive oil. Add a splash of water and cook veegetables until tender.

Stir in roasted squash flesh. Add chicken broth and simmer for about 20 – 30 min. Add lime or lemon juice and puree with immersion blender, in a food processor or blender until smooth. Add some extra water or milk if necessary to make more liquidly if its too thick. (I added about 1/4 cup milk in the end because I’m a raw milk addict!).

Serve warm or chilled. Top each bowl with a dollop of yogurt or sour cream and a sprinkling of chopped chives.

