{Thanksgiving food-coma} Pumpkin Pie with a Flakey Spelt Crust

I had meant to post this a week ago! But that doesn’t change that I still have pumpkins coming out of my ears. Not that its a bad thing at all, I love pumpkin. But sometimes you just have to get creative, like hiding it in stuff so no one notices how much pumpkin they are actually eating :)

I had three pumpkins of various sizes saved up from my CSA. Basically, one was used for the pumpkin pancakes, one was reserved for a Thanksgiving pumpkin pie (which was made on Monday (last week) and was completely gone in a day and a half). And the last? Well, apparently that has been designated to become another pumpkin pie by S. So I guess he liked the pie? I was going to make muffins with the last pumpkin, but it looks like pie won. I’m a sucker for flakey pie crust, I can’t say no.

I decided to attempt the white spelt flour again, because the pancakes were such a success. This time I replaced regular flour with the spelt in my never fail pie crust recipe. It uses half butter and half lard (the real stuff). The butter makes it deliciously tasty, and the lard makes it easier to work with. Butter melts much faster and easier then lard so thats why I use half and half. And the plus to using lard is it makes the crust extra flakey and crumbly. This recipe is from the Joy of Cooking cookbook, my food-bible.

Au naturel or …

pimped out with whipped cream.

Soft Custardy Pumpkin Pie

Recipe from Joy of Cooking cookbook

1 homemade pie crust or one store bought
3 eggs (use 2 for a firmer filling. I like the softer custard filling that 3 eggs produces)
2 cups baked pumpkin or winter squash (cut in half crosswise, seeds & strings removed, and baked shell side up in a 350 F oven until tender, about 45 min – 1 hour), or canned pumpkin
1 1/2 cups light cream or mix 3/4 cup heavy cream and 3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp freshly grated or ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves or allspice

Position a rack in the center of the oven. Preheat the oven to 375 F.

Whisk eggs thoroughly in a large bowl. Add pumpkin, cream, sugar, salt and spices; whisk until fully combined.

Warm the pie crust in the oven until it is warm to the touch (it can melt on you if left too long so be careful), letting the filling stand at room temperature in the meantime. Pour the pumpkin mixture into the warm pie crust and bake until the center of the filling seems set but quivery, like gelatin, when the pan is nudged, 35 to 45 minutes (mine took around 45 or longer). Let cool completely on a rack, then refrigerate for up to 1 day. Serve cold, at room temperature or slightly warmed. Accompany with whipped cream.

